Lucy Montgomery — stories for children

Lucy Montgomery

Lucy Maud Montgomery
(November 30, 1874 – April 24, 1942)
Was a Canadian author best known for a series of novels beginning in 1908 with Anne of Green Gables. The book was an immediate success. Anne Shirley, an orphaned girl, made Montgomery famous in her lifetime and gave her an international following.

The first novel was followed by a series of sequels with Anne as the central character. Montgomery went on to publish 20 novels as well as 530 short stories, 500 poems, and 30 essays. Most of the novels were set in Prince Edward Island, and locations within Canada's smallest province became a literary landmark and popular tourist site – namely Green Gables farm, the genesis of Prince Edward Island National Park. She was made an officer of the Order of the British Empire in 1935.


Anne of Green Gables

Anne of Avonlea

Anne of the Island

Anne of Ingleside

Anne's House of Dreams

Anne of Windy Poplars

Rainbow Valley

Rilla of Ingleside

Emily of New Moon

Emily of New Moon — Emily Climbs

Emily of New Moon — Emilys Quest

The Story Girl

Chronicles of Avonlea

Further Chronicles of Avonlea

The Golden Road

Kilmeny of the Orchard

Pat of Silver Bush

Mistress Pat

Short Stories by Lucy Montgomery