Legends of old England by Edwin Hartland

Legends of old England


Nursery Tales

Jack the Giant Killer

The Princess of Canterbury

The Princess of Colchester

Mr Fox

Tom Tit Tot

Jack and the Bean-stalk

Legends of old england

Historical and Local

The Story of Sain Kenelm

Wild Edric

Lady Godiva

The Legend of the Sons of the Conqueror

The Legend of Becket's Parents

The Fause Fable of the Lord Lathom

Whittington and his Cat

The Pedlar of Swaffham

The Lampton Worm

Bomere Pool


The Origin of the Wrekin

The Blinded Giant


Worcestershire Fairies

The Fairy Midwife

The Adventure of Cherry of Zennor

The Fairy Funeral

The Piskies in the Cellar

Edwin and Sir Topaz

The Two Serving Damsels

The Tulip Bed

The Fisherman and the Piskies

A Fairy Caught

Colman Grey

The King of the Cats

A Myth of Midridge

The Green Children

The Fairy Banquet

The Fairy Horn

The Fairy Fair

The Fairies' Caldron

The Cauld Lad of Hilton

The Fairy Thieves

The Boggart


Legend of the Rollright Stones


Dando and His Dogs

The Demon Tregeagle

The Pason and Clerk

Outwitting the Bogie

The Hunted Hare

The Well of St. Ludgvan

The Hedley Kow


The Lord of Pengerswick

The Witch and the Toad

Witch and Hare

The Hand of Glory

Betty Chidley The Witch

The Bag of Flour

Kentsham Bell


A Bishop's Ghost

A Clergyman's Ghost

The Haunted House

Ghost-Laying Stories

The Roaring Bull of Bagbury

The White Lady of Blenkinsopp

The Haunted Widower

The Ghost of Rosewarne

The Lady with the Lantern


Billy B----'s Adventure


The Wise Fools of Gotham

The Three Wishes

The Miller at the Professor's Examination

Stupid's Mistaken Cries

The Three Sillies

Mr. Vinegar

Lazy Jack

The History of Tom Thumb