Black Beauty The Autobiography of a Horse by Anna Sewell

Black Beauty The Autobiography of a Horse by Anna Sewell

Black Beauty: The Autobiography of a Horse is a popular children's novel by the British author Anna Sewell. It was first published in 1877 and became an immediate success.
The novel's title character and protagonist is the horse Black Beauty. The story is told from the point of view of Black Beauty, who lives in 19th century England. Over the course of the book, Black Beauty has a series of owners and caretakers, some good and some bad. Although he experiences many hardships, the gentle and intelligent Black Beauty remembers his mother's wise advice and always gives his best.

Table of content

Part I

Chapter 1 My Early Home

Chapter 2 The Hunt

Chapter 3 My Breaking In

Chapter 4 Birtwick Park

Chapter 5 A Fair Start

Chapter 6 Liberty

Chapter 7 Ginger

Chapter 8 Ginger's Story Continued

Chapter 9 Merrylegs

Chapter 10 A Talk in the Orchard

Chapter 11 Plain Speaking

Chapter 12 A Stormy Day

Chapter 13 The Devil's Trade Mark

Chapter 14 James Howard

Chapter 15 The Old Hostler

Chapter 16 The Fire

Chapter 17 John Manly's Talk

Chapter 18 Going for the Doctor

Chapter 19 Only Ignorance

Chapter 20 Joe Green

Chapter 21 The Parting

Part II

Chapter 22 Earlshall

Chapter 23 A Strike for Liberty

Chapter 24 The Lady Anne, or a Runaway Horse

Chapter 25 Reuben Smith

Chapter 26 How it Ended

Chapter 27 Ruined and Going Downhill

Chapter 28 A Job Horse and His Drivers

Chapter 29 Cockneys

Chapter 30 A Thief

Chapter 31 A Humbug

Black Beauty The Autobiography of a Horse by Anna Sewell

Part III

Chapter 32 A Horse Fair

Chapter 33 A London Cab Horse

Chapter 34 An Old War Horse

Chapter 35 Jerry Barker

Chapter 36 The Sunday Cab

Chapter 37 The Golden Rule

Chapter 38 Dolly and a Real Gentleman

Chapter 39 Seedy Sam

Chapter 40 Poor Ginger

Chapter 41 The Butcher

Chapter 42 The Election

Chapter 43 A Friend in Need

Chapter 44 Old Captain and His Successor

Chapter 45 Jerry's New Year

Part IV

Chapter 46 Jakes and the Lady

Chapter 47 Hard Times

Chapter 48 Farmer Thoroughgood and His Grandson Willie

Chapter 49 My Last Home